Skip to main content


Preparedness — It’s a Team Sport!

The Emergency Management Cooperative (EMC) of Washington County is committed to the development and maintenance of a countywide, integrated system to prepare for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate against disasters. The EMC members include Washington County, the cities of Beaverton, Cornelius, Forest Grove, Hillsboro, North Plains, Sherwood, Tigard, and Tualatin, Clean Water Services, and Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue.


Washington County

In addition to local governments and special service districts, the EMC provides assistance to local businesses, schools, social service agencies, church groups, neighborhood groups, civic organizations, and youth groups.


The EMC takes a proactive approach to enhancing government preparedness and educating the public. Since government's ability to respond may be limited during disasters, individuals and families need to be prepared to manage on their own for up to two weeks.




We want your feedback to make our community safer!

Disasters can happen any time, any place. Washington County has updated our Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan which will guide our mitigation work for the next 5 years (until 2028). Participate in this survey to help us make sure our work and this plan continue to help strengthen our community’s resilience to natural disasters. This survey is voluntary and takes about 20 minutes to complete.

Click the link to take the survey: